| Sound Portfolio

contact: me@joaopoppetoulson.com

The Rite, by Adam Csoka Keller

Sound Design + Music Composition: Joao Poppe Toulson

For the 106th anniversary of The Rite of Spring, Culture Device, a group comprised solely of dancers with Downs syndrome, held a 10-week residency at the Royal Opera House, reimagining and reinterpreting this ballet. When it was first premiered in 1913, the ballet’s groundbreaking composition and choreography provoked a riot in the crowd.

2020 - Portrait of Britain (with British Journal of Photography): Evelyn Bencicova (Win)
2020 - Athens Fashion Film Festival: Best Music (Win)
2019 - Fashion Film Festival Milan: Best Music, Best Production, Best Director, Best Editing, Best Fashion Film, Best Photography (Win 1x, Nominations 6x)
2019 - CONNECTIONS Creative Awards Milan: Personal (Win)

Anticline, by João Bragança Gil.

Sound Design: João Poppe Toulson; João Bragança Gil.
Original Soundtrack: João Poppe Toulson.

This piece is part of a multimedia work by João Bragança Gil.

Full Film: vimeo.com/joaobgil/anticline-cinema

2021 - Edinburgh, Scotland - Close:Up Edinburgh Docufest - (Nomination 1x)
2021 - Lisbon, Portugal - Triste Para Sempre Festival - Lágrima (Win)
2021 - Lisbon, Portugal - Triste Para Sempre Festival - Lágrima do Público (Win)
2021 - Athens, Greece - Drama Film Festival - Drama Green Award (Win)

One Last Longing, by Henrique Pavao.

Sound Design + Music Composition: João Poppe Toulson

Temporarily online 5 & 6th June 2020 at WrongWrong.
Supported by: DGARTES - Direção Geral das Arte

Full film currently unavailable.

minor parallax (2018).

Abstract video and sound composition.

Diluted  Sounds, In a Sleeping Mood.

This my week-long musical collaboration with In a Sleeping Mood.

Everyday through 2013, the duo In a Sleeping Mood composed a short sound sketch and matched it with either a video, an image or a text. The result is an impressive set of 365 singular sonic moments. The group invited a range of artists to join them for a week-long collaboration each. These included: Maria Chiara Argiró, Jacopsen, Tommaso Stingo, Alex Kutumov, Flavio Buonerba, and Nicola Palanza.